DJ Cutman’s Lost Beats & Found Friends (Album Review for Old Timey Hedgehog, Vol. 1 Issue 3)

(This is a post containing the article I was comissioned to write for Old Timey Hedgehog in their third issue, purchasable here: They’ve decided they want me around a bit more often, so make sure you peep the full magazine, show them some love if you’ve got a kindle and check out their tumblr & other social media offerings. Quite a bit of nerdy goodness going on up in there.)

DJ Cutman has been on my radar for a while now but I’ve never just listened to a full EP. The chiptune jedi recently had a birthday and for this issue, the powers that be in the Old Timey Hedgehog world sent me this 6 track drop that he put out. A compilation of collaboration, there’s a bunch of teamwork going on here and considering what it sounds like, I support these forces joining together as often as possible.

Continue reading

Happy Daft Punk Day! Get Lucky & Interstella 5555 Mashup

Yo dawg, I herd you like Daft Punk, so I put some Daft Punk in your Daft Punk, so you can Daft Punk while you Daft Punk.

Get Lucky has been released and should be exploding all over your intertrons. Here’s a mashup with Interstella 5555 the fantastic “House Musical” that was done with Discovery. Can’t wait to hear the rest of this album.

Pharmacy – Phase 2 by Jonathan Allyn ( Guest Review)

Pharmacy Phase 2 - Artwork

The fantastic lady editor/promoter that has been getting me some of my best event reviews dropped this in my lap and once again, she doesn’t disappoint. Jonathan Allyn definitely never showed up in my reality before because I couldn’t forget talent like this.

Continue reading

Mix of the Week – Jorn van Deynhoven’s April Mix (100th post!)

For my 100th post here at, I am delighted to feature a mix by one of my very favorite new trance producers, Jorn van Deynhoven. And just like the name implies, the mix is thick with delicious, uplifting, euphoric and rambling trance that I could not be more happy about. Track after track brings back this trance feel that I thought I would never be able to experience live after Trance Energy in Amsterdam died a whimpering, electro-induced death and Sensation lost any loyalty to the original sound that made it famous. Particular highlights include the Manuel Le Saux remix of Any Given Moments & the Pure Mix of Solarstone’s Please. Also, his track “Superfly” is not only a favorite in A State of Trance, but an exceptionally well-produced track that gets me very excited to see what he does next. The track list is below as always. When you play it, make sure to play it on a system that has a subwoofer. Sit back, relax and enjoy the aural journey Jorn takes you through. Can’t wait to see him on this side of the pond.

01. Temple One – Venus [Enhanced]
02. Miroslav Vrlik – November (Suncatcher Remix) [Perceptive]
03. Ferrin & Morris – Arizona [Transistic]
04. Signum – Any Given Moments (Manuel Le Saux Remix) [ID]
05. Adam Seller – Titanium (Darren Porter Remix) [Fraction]
06. Talla 2XLC ft. Skye – Rise (Photographer Dub Remix) [Tetsuo]
07. Mark Sherry – My Love (Darren Porter Remix) [Liquid]
08. Rene Ablaze & Charles McThorn – Purple [Redux]
09. Jorn van Deynhoven – Superfly [A State Of Trance]
10. Solarstone – Please (Pure Mix) [Blackhole] & Chris Brown steal the fuck out of Arty & Mat Zo’s track “Rebound”

[UPDATE: Rebound, by Arty & Matt Zo has returned to the Beatport Top 100 list, for the first time in 2 years.]

Just in case you didn’t have enough reasons to dislike, Chris Brown & VEVO some more, today they uploaded the 5th track from his fourth “studio” album #willpower. I’m going to use studio extremely loosely here, as the track is straight up lifted from two astonishingly talented producers, Arty & Mat Zo. Just because I would never wish to be accused of not showing my work, the two videos are below. Listen to Rebound, then listen to “Let’s Go” and if you think didn’t rip this the fuck off, I’ll buy you a coke.

Arty & Mat Zo are wonderful producers, with Arty making some amazing remixes and Mat Zo having just dropped a mind-blowing, genre-exploding Essential Mix on BBC’s Radio 1 back in Feb. 70 tracks in 2 hours, annotated with tracks from “Cosmos” by Carl Sagan. Those of you playing the home game remember I named it my Mix of the Week back on February 16th. Get at it, as I’ve re-listed it below.

They both mentioned that had asked to use the track but they declined/didn’t want to work with him. It seems, much like Chris Brown, just can’t take no for an answer. When pressed about it, Chris Brown pleaded stupidity on twitter and hasn’t said sh*t. Besides how annoyed I am that this has forced me to write William with two periods so often in this review, I think it’s quite a stunning commentary that this violation of copyright & artistic integrity should ensure both of these fools are run out of town on the rails after being tarred & feathered. But they won’t be, and people will still love the shit out of his new CD and Chris Brown will continue to get sex thrown at him.

Le Sigh. Anyway, try and get at Arty & Mat Zo’s work, I’ve listed their respective soundclouds below, so instead of wasting your time hating on either of the fools in the first 2 words of the title of this article (because I’m done typing William with dots), blow up their shit, buy some stuff or just listen and enjoy two hard working trance/EDM producers. I’ve also included the beatport link to the track, just in case it’s impressed you so much that you want to buy it and not the shoddy knock off by He Who I Am Sick of Naming & the guy who has a neck tattoo of the woman he beat up.